I’ve decided that my project will be to create a tweet-gathering algorithm, and I’ve spent my time   working with Ruby trying to get it to work. I started out last week at the very basic level of learning the differences between coding languages, and which ones were even capable of being used to gather tweets. Surprisingly (and dishearteningly), even this proved difficult. I’m realizing that I don’t even have the basic language to understand coding. I came across a few questions on forums asking about Ruby versus Python for Twitter, so I narrowed my potential coding languages down to those two. I’m still too much of a novice to really appreciate the differences between them, and there isn’t really a consensus which is “better,” but I came across this chart where Twitter is listed under “Ruby” for usage.

Ruby_vs._Pythonvia http://learn.onemonth.com/ruby-vs-python

On 3/2/15, our First Tutorial assignment was due. I completed a few modules in Lynda.com of a Ruby for Beginners tutorial. It was very easy to understand, and I was feeling good about my choice, but I couldn’t get it to instal on my computer! The tutorial said that Macs come standard with Ruby, but mine didn’t seem to recognize it.

Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 9.36.10 AM

My terminal is just blank when I try to locate it

I also tried downloading it, but nothing really happened with the installation. My computer does, however, come pre-loaded with Python, so I am leaning towards making the switch, since my heart wasn’t really set on either one anyways.

Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 9.37.56 AM

I have no idea what that Ruby file is, but it’s not showing up in the terminal!

Leave a Reply

